A lover’s eulogy

Standard

Spoken poetry by Lovella Chris Palma

It was crowded… so many faceless figures walking past…

In the middle of a busy street, the silence in my mind was deafening.

Color… all over, all sorts of balloons and flowers

but all I see was black and white.

I wanted to scream from the pain but I was numb…

from the huge hole in my chest.

Emptiness…

The empty seat across me in the restaurant

where you used to sit staring at me and telling me

how beautiful I look in my dress.

The blank sheets of paper where you use to draw my face

The silent mobile phone where you used to send long messages of love and care.

My hand, empty and cold by the absence of the warmth of yours…

The empty space next to me… where you used to be

They said “be strong”, but how can I be strong if the only one that gives me strength is gone?

They said “move on”, but how can I if all my dreams can only be fulfilled by us, together?

They said “it’s okay”, but how can I be okay of you are not here with me?

They said, I will find someone better but how can I if you are the best for me.

We made dreams together.

We planned to make a life together.

We gave each other all that we can…

We promised forever to each otherbut why am I standing here alone?

I still remember your smile, when your eyes would get so small I often wonder if you could still see.

I still remember your laugh, it was like a song, melodic music to my ears.

I still remember the warmth of your embrace, in your arms is my safest place. I still remember your eyes, full of love whenever you look at me.

But I will forget…

I will forget the numbing feeling I got when I heard the news…

I will forget the screaming pain of seeing you there, lifeless…

I will forget how I didn’t recognize the man I love from all the blood…

I will forget the hate I felt for the drunk man who drove his car one night and crash into yours…

I will forget how I spent so many days and nights crying, hoping that all of this is just a nightmare.

That I will wake up and you will make this pain go away with just a hug and a soft kiss.

That we will still get to have our happy ever after… our forever

But I will always remember how much I loved you and how much you showed your love for me while you were still breathing.

Don’t worry my love…You fulfilled your promise…that you will love me till your last breath.

Whilst standing here alone… in front of your tombstone.

I know whenever I look up, I’ll know you are at a better place.

Wait for me my love… when my time is over.

I will see you there and we will be together again this time, forever.

Leave a comment